About Kieran Byrne CPA, CFA, CFP®

To best advise clients on the most important financial decisions, Kieran has dedicated himself to advanced studies within the fields of taxation, investment management, and financial planning. Kieran holds the following professional credentials & designations:

  • CPA  -  Certified Public Accountant
  • CFA  -  Chartered Financial Analyst
  • CFP®  -  Certified Financial Planner
  • PFS  -  CPA Personal Financial Specialist

Before establishing M.K. Byrne & Co. LLC, Kieran worked as an Investment Research Analyst at an Investment Bank in New York City where he identified investment opportunities for clients. Prior to his investment research work, Kieran worked as a CPA at PricewaterhouseCoopers, a global accounting, tax, & consulting firm, where he advised the firm's Investment Management clientele. Kieran graduated with honors from the College of the Holy Cross where he majored in Economics-Accounting. Kieran, his wife, Michelle, and daughter, Madison, reside in Morris County, NJ.


About the Professional Credentials and Designations


CPA – A Certified Public Accountant is an individual licensed by their representative State to provide accounting services to the public. Since CPAs are licensed and regulated by their state’s board of accountancy, CPAs are legally required to adhere to mandatory standards of integrity, objectivity, competency, and confidentiality in all professional activities. While state laws and regulations vary, to earn a CPA license an individual must generally attain a degree in accounting; must work under the supervision of a CPA in a tax or accounting job function for a minimum period of time; and must successfully pass all four sections of the Uniform CPA Examination. In order to maintain a CPA license in New Jersey, the State requires the completion of at least 20 hours of continuing education (CPE) each year and a minimum of 120 hours over a 3-year triennial period.

CFA – A Chartered Financial Analyst designation is a globally recognized investment credential established in 1962 and awarded by the CFA institute. To earn a CFA charter, candidates must: 1) pass three sequential, six-hour examinations over three years; 2) have at least four years of qualified professional investment experience; and 3) adhere to the CFA Institute’s Code of Ethics and Standards of Professional Conduct which requires that a client’s interest be placed ahead of the CFA’s interest. The CFA Program’s curriculum provides a comprehensive framework of knowledge for investment decision making and is firmly grounded in the knowledge and skills used every day in the investment profession. The three levels of the CFA Program test a proficiency with a wide range of fundamental and advanced investment topics, including ethical standards, fixed-income and equity analysis, alternative and derivative investments, financial reporting standards, portfolio management, and wealth planning.

CFP® - The Certified Financial Planner™ certification is a certification granted by the Certified Financial Planner Board of Standards, Inc. To attain the right to use the CFP® mark, an individual must fulfill a series of education, examination, and experience requirements which demonstrate the individual’s competency in the areas of insurance and risk management, employee benefits planning, investment planning, income tax planning, retirement planning, and estate planning. An individual must also agree to be bound by CFP Board’s Standards of Professional Conduct which requires that CFP® professional provide advice with a fiduciary standard of care. Individuals who become certified must complete 30 hours of continuing education every two years.